Contact us at


This Award is named after Emeritus Professor Grayfred Gray. During his 28 years on the faculty at the University of Tennessee College of Law, Grayfred Gray practiced as a mediator and was the founder of the well-regarded UT mediation clinic and other programs in which law students mediated cases referred by Tennessee courts and federal, state and local agencies.

Past Award Winners

2022 - Tennessee Supreme Court Justice Sharon G. Lee (see video of award presentation)

2021 - Honorable Deborah M. Henderson (see video of award presentation)

2020 - Honorable Constance (Connie) Clark (see video of award presentation) 

2019 - Jacqueline Kittrell

2018 - Executive Directors of community mediation centers and programs in Tennessee

2017 - Linda Warren Seely

2016 - Marnie Huff

2015 - Stephen L. Shields

2014 - Carol Berz, Jean Munroe, Anne Sides

2013 - Larry Bridgesmith

2012 - Jocelyn D. Wurzburg

2011 - Shelby Grubbs, Robert Murrian

2010 - skipped to move ceremony from fall to spring

2009 - Marietta Shipley

2008 - Honorable Janice M. Holder

2007 - Professor Grayfred Gray

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software